440 m above sea level, 68 residents, 246 ha
Willwerscheid lies at the southern foothills of the narrow Höhenrücken mountain ridge between Grünewald and Kondelwald, on the northern slope of the 442-m-high Schrackberg.
of the Eifel Mountains are surrounded by the Sammetbach Valley in the east and
the Demichbach Valley in the south.
Nestled in the heart of meadows, fields and forests is the small, rural town of Willwerscheid, the starting point for hikes into the southern Vulkaneifel.
A well developed network of hiking trails through the surrounding woodland provides excellent options for exploring the forest and nature.
Willwerscheid is a municipality in the district of Bernkastel-Wittlich, and belongs to the Kröv-Bausendorf association of municipalities.
The Trier-Koblenz highway runs just near the western district border.
In a field known as Thommen (Latin tumulus = burial mound) in the district of Willwerscheid is a burial site which was presumably once part of a Roman watchhouse and signal station perched on a hill off the Trier-Andernach military road.
Nestled in woodland, the tiny village was first officially mentioned in 1507 under the name of Wulfferscheidt. It then became Wilwerschit in 1569.
Its establishment dates back to the forest clearing days of the 12th century.
The Willwerscheid records at Springiersbach Abbey, from 1507, contain further information about the medieval town. After 1507, the abbot became the sole landlord, liege and judge in Willwerscheid. In 1425, the local vassals tried to strip the abbot of his lordship, but failed before the court. The “Vogtei” (jurisdiction) gave the abbey to the Count of Manderscheid, to whom the vassals did not have to pay the jurisdiction tax (“Vogtsteuer”).
According to one of the abbey’s property lists from 1789, land in Willwerscheid was granted to seven families as entails. The abbey only earned a measly annual income of 63 Reichsthaler from this.
The French invasion in 1794 marked the end of the Springiersbach rule in Willwerscheid. The abbey’s subjects became free citizens with their own land. In 1800, the village became the Mairie Neuerburg as an independent municipality, and was allocated to the “Bürgermeisterei” mayor’s office of the same name in 1816.
Willwerscheid came under French rule in 1794, and was assigned to the Kingdom of Prussia at the Congress of Vienna in 1815. It has been part of Rhineland-Palatinate since that state’s establishment in 1946.