Kinderbeuern - Between Mosel and Eifel

A village with a turbulent history

168 m, 1086 residents, 556 ha.


In the heart of the Alftal Valley, a tributary valley of the Moselle River, at the edge of the Kondelwald, lies the emerging holiday town of Kinderbeuern, with its local centre Hetzhof.

Hetzhof is situated just a little further north, by the Kammerbach.

Visitors will find the Kinderbeuern holiday resort near the district town of Wittlich.


Kinderbeuern is easily accessible via the A1, B49, B421 and the Trier-Koblenz train line (Bengel or Ürzig train station).


Silent forests sprawling as far as the Moselle River, and revealing spectacular views of the romantic Moselle landscape, alternate with beautiful grassy valleys.


Hikers
can explore this charming setting on marked trails, and enjoy being out in nature.


Cyclists can take advantage of an extensive network of bike tracks, running from Kinderbeuern to Wittlich, and along the Moselle.

From Wittlich Central Bus Station, visitors can take the special cyclists’ bus (Radlerbus) to Daun in the Eifel Mountains, and then ride back to the Alftal Valley along the famous Maar-Moselradweg track, which has been created on an abandoned railway line.

For information and bus departure times, click >> here

Mountain-bikers can enjoy a virtually endless network of tracks through the forest and meadows.

 


History of Kinderbeuern

Nestled in the heart of the Alftal Valley, Kinderbeuern was first mentioned in 1296, when a Kröv knight paid the Machern nunnery a kind of “rent” for grains

and hens in Kynheymerburen. Kynderburen was derived from this name in 1450, and finally became Kinderbeuern in 1553.

The town’s name suggests that Kinderbeuern was a settlement within the Kinheimer district, which, according to Kröv land laws (1399), stretched as far as th

e Alfbach River.

Hetzhof, which was later closely affiliated with Kinderbeuern, and was originally an indivisible single homestead, was first mentioned as Heubtzhove (i.e. main or senior farmyard) in 1438. The name is based on the location of the three farmyards by the Kammerbach.

The Neidhof (1323 Nythofen, i.e. lower farmyard) was established beneath the undoubtedly older Melchhof (1323 Melley), and the aforementioned Heubtzhove above it.

This became Heutzhoff in 1561, and Hetzhoff in 1698.

Kinderbeuern came under French rule in 1794, and was assigned to the Kingdom of Prussia at the Congress of Vienna in 1815.

Kinderbeuern has been part of Rhineland-Palatinate state since 1946.

 


Individual monuments in Kinderbeuern and Hetzhof

Kinderbeuern

Dorfstraße 21: Catholic parish church of the Magi; four-bayed hall construction, western façade converted to baroque style in 1870,

Vicarage added in 1932, solid construction with mansard roof, reformist architecture from 1910/20

Alfbachbrücke bridge, built in 1851

Roadside cross at L57 Ürziger Straße, erected in 1748

 

Hetzhof

"Aale Boahof" burgher house with historic building fabric, reconstruction and extension in 1986-89

Am Sonnenhang 13: Small roadside farmhouse; single-storey half-timbered house and outbuilding, plastered, 18th or 19th century

Brunnenstraße 4: Half-timbered “Quereinhaus”, solidly constructed in parts, 18th century, extended around 1900

Brunnenstraße 5: Roadside farmhouse; residential home bearing the date of 1785, partly half-timbered commercial section; former half-timbered barn, solidly constructed in parts, with bakehouse(?)

Kindelstraße 30: “Quereinhaus”, bearing the date of 1729 (?), redesigned in the 19th century

Kondelstraße 39: Solid baroque construction, second half of the 18th century

Kondelstraße 43: St John’s Catholic filial church; three-bayed hall building, bearing the date of 1792

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wanderfreunde haben Gelegenheit, in dieser reizvollen Landschaft auf markierten Wanderwegen die Gegend zu erkunden und die freie Natur zu genieße

n.

Für Radfahrer steht ein weitläufiges Radwegenetz ab Kinderbeuern in Richtung Wittlich, sowie an die Mosel bereit.
Ab Wittlich ZOB ist es möglich mit einem Radlerbus in die Eifel bis nach Daun zu fahren, um von dort auf dem bekannten Maare-Moselradweg, einer stillgelegten Eisenbahntrasse, zurück ins Alftal zu radeln.
Informationen und Busabfahrtszeiten finden Sie >> hier

Mountainbiker finden ein schier endloses Wegenetz durch Wald und Flur.

 

Geschichtliches über Kinderbeuern

Das in der Mitte des Alftals gelegene Kinderbeuern wird erstmals 1296 genannt, als ein Kröver Ritter dem Nonnenkloster Machern einen Korn- und Hühnerzins in

Kynheymerburen schenkte. Aus diesem Namen wurde 1450 Kynderburen und schließlich ab 1553 Kinderbeuern.
Der Ortsname besagt, dass Kinderbeuern eine Siedlung auf Kinheimer Gemarkung war, die laut Kröver Weistum (1399) bis an den Alfbach reichte.

Das mit Kinderbeuern später eng verbundene Hetzhof, ursprünglich ein unteilbares Einzelgehöft, wird erstmals 1438 als Heubtzhove (d. h. Hof zu Haupt, oberer Hof) erwähnt. Der Name klärt sich aus der Lage der drei Höfe am Kammerbach.
Unterhalb des sicher älteren Melchhofs (1323 Melley) entstand der Neidhof (1323 Nythofen, d. h. niederer Hof) und darüber der genannte Heubtzhove.
Daraus wurde 1561 Heutzhoff und ab 1698 Hetzhoff.
Ab 1794 stand Kinderbeuern unter französischer Herrschaft, 1815 wurde der Ort auf dem Wiener Kongress dem Königreich Preußen zugeordnet.
Seit 1946 ist Kinderbeuern ein Teil des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz.

 

 

Einzeldenkmäler in Kinderbeuern und Hetzhof

Kinderbeuern

  • Dorfstraße 21: Katholische Pfarrkirche Hl. Drei Könige; vierachsiger Saalbau, 1870 barockisierende Westfassade,
    1932 dazugehörig das Pfarrhaus, massiver Mansardwalmdachbau, Reformarchitektur 1910/20
  • Alfbachbrücke, erbaut 1851
  • Wegekreuz an der L57 Ürziger Straße, errictet 1748

 

Hetzhof

  • Bürgerhaus "Aale Boahof" mit historischer Bausubstanz, Um- und Anbau 1986-89
  • am Sonnenhang 13: kleiner Streckhof; eingeschossiges Fachwerkhaus und -wirtschaftgebäude, verputzt, 18. oder 19. Jahrhundert

  • Brunnenstraße 4: Fachwerk-Quereinhaus, teilweise massiv, 18. Jahrhundert, um 1900 erweitert
  • Brunnenstraße 5: Streckhof; Wohnhaus bezeichnet 1785, Wirtschaftsteil, teilweise Fachwerk; ehemalige Fachwerkscheune, teilweise massiv, mit Backhaus(?)
  • Kindelstraße 30: Quereinhaus, bezeichnet 1729 (?), im 19. Jahrhundert überformt
  • Kondelstraße 39: barocker Massivbau, zweite Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts
  • Kondelstraße 43: Katholische Filialkirche St. Johannes; dreiachsiger Saalbau, bezeichnet 1792