Nestled between the Moselle River and the Eifel Mountains, in a sheltered location with mild climate at the base of the vast Kondelwald in the lower Alfbachtal Valley, is the holiday resort of Bausendorf, with its local centre, Olkenbach.
It is not far from the district town of Wittlich.
Bausendorf can be easily accessed via the A1, B49 and B421.
Quiet forests which stretch as far as the Moselle and provide views over the romantic river landscape alternate with beautiful grassy valleys.
Hikers can explore this charming setting on marked trails, and enjoy being out in nature.
Cyclists can take advantage of an extensive network of bike tracks, running from Bausendorf to Wittlich, and along the Moselle.
From Wittlich Central Bus Station, visitors can take the special cyclists’ bus (Radlerbus) to Daun in the Eifel Mountains, and then ride back to the Alftal Valley along the famous Maar-Moselradweg track, which has been created on an abandoned railway line.
For information and bus departure times, click >> [here]
Mountain-bikers can enjoy a virtually endless network of tracks through the forest and meadows.
The town of Bausendorf first emerged around 1220 as a sparsely settled hamlet.
Bausendorf Chapel in the archdeaconry of Kaimt (Zell/Mosel) was mentioned in the records of archiepiscopal rights around 1250.
St Simon’s Collegiate Church (Simeonstift) in Trier bought a property in Olkenbach in 1075.
Bausendorf came under French rule in 1794, and was assigned to the Kingdom of Prussia at the Congress of Vienna in 1815.
Bausendorf has been part of the then newly formed state of Rhineland-Palatinate since 1946.
Having been first mentioned in 1075, the town of Olkenbach possesses the earliest historic charter for the Alftal Valley municipalities.
Olkenbach has always been a winegrowing town, with viticulture the main focus even in Celto-Romanic times.
The present-day municipality of Bausendorf was created as part of the administrative reform, when the formerly independent municipalities of Bausendorf and Olkenbach merged on 7 June 1969.
The residents of the nearby Eifel Mountains, the Central Moselle and the "Wittlicher Tal" make an annual pilgrimage to the Heinzerath pilgrimage church during harvest time.